New York CIty Council Member Ben Kallos

NYC Fracking Ban Proposed by Council Members Kallos, Rosenthal & Constantinides

New York, NY – Following the New York Court of Appeals' decision in Wallach vs. Town of Dryden and Cooperstown Holstein vs. Town of Middlefield to allow municipalities to ban fracking within their limits, Council Members Ben Kallos, Helen Rosenthal and Costa Constantinides have introduced a bill for New York City to stand in solidarity with Otsego County’s Middlefield and Tompkins County’s Dryden in banning hydro-fracking. The move is a strong statement from New York City against fracking in the city, surrounding areas and the state. 

According to, New York City would be joining 80 municipalities with a ban, 100 with moratorium in place, and 87 making a push for a ban or moratorium. Though there are many unknowns about hydrofracking, it has already been shown to pose serious dangers to human health and the environment, including:

  • Contamination of drinking water--243 cases related to fracking in Pennsylvania alone
  • Health risks found in 95% of fracking studies; Air quality pollution risks found in 96% of such studies
  • Severe damage to health and quality of life from being near toxic waste and emissions, as was recently upheld in a Texas court 

“Our City, surrounding environment and New York City drinking water must be protected from the dangerous effects of fracking. Fracking has been shown to be toxic and damaging—but we still have not banned it in New York State. New York City stands in solidarity with small towns who have banned hydrofracking upstate in protecting our residents and surrounding lands from the immense dangers and unknowns of hydrofracking,” said Council Member Ben Kallos.

"While it is highly unlikely that anyone would 'frack' within NYC, it's important to make this gesture of solidarity--- fracking should not be an acceptable practice in NYS: upstate or downstate," Said Council Member Helen Rosenthal (D-Manhattan)."If the state-wide moratorium were to be revoked, fellow New Yorkers in cities, towns, and villages throughout our state would be thrust onto the front lines and forced to curb this devastating impact on the environment through local ordinances. Let this bill signal solidarity with those localities taking action to protect our land, our food, our water, our health and our future."
 Council Member Costa Constantinides said, "New York has the obligation and opportunity to encourage innovation and sustainable energy production. We have already taken the first step by committing to reduce our carbon emissions by 80% by 2050. As we continue to combat climate change we must shift our focus from the unsustainable and untested new sources of energy such as hydrofracking and move our city towards more green energy.  Hydraulic fracturing has been correlated to environmental hazards including toxic waste, developmental health issues, and pollution.  Prohibiting the practice throughout our five boroughs will ensure the safety of our environment, public health and have us stand with our fellow NYS counties against this dangerous enterprise.  I thank my colleagues Council Members Ben Kallos and Helen Rosenthal for their bold vision on this important issue."

According to, the following are the list of municipalities that have movements against fracking:

The following municipalities have banned fracking altogether:

Albany - Albany
Albany - Guilderland
Cayuga - Moravia
Cayuga - Niles
Cayuga - Scipio
Cayuga - Summerhill
Chautauqua - Dunkirk
Chenango - Oxford
Columbia - Hudson
Columbia - Livingston
Cortland - Preble
Delaware - Andes
Delaware - Meredith
Dutchess - Beacon
Dutchess - Red Hook
Erie - Buffalo
Erie - Wales
Monroe - Brighton
Monroe - Mendon
Monroe - Perinton
Monroe - Rush
Niagara - Niagara Falls
Niagara - Wilson
Oneida - Augusta
Oneida - Kirkland
Oneida - Marshall
Oneida - New Hartford
Oneida - Paris
Oneida - Rome
Oneida - Utica
Onondaga - Camillus
Onondaga - De Witt
Onondaga - Elbridge
Onondaga - Fabius
Onondaga - La Fayette
Onondaga - Marcellus
Onondaga - Onondaga
Onondaga - Otisco
Onondaga - Pompey
Onondaga - Skaneateles
Onondaga - Spafford
Onondaga - Syracuse
Ontario - Canandaigua
Ontario - Canandaigua
Ontario - Geneva
Ontario - Geneva
Orange - Warwick
Otsego - Butternuts
Otsego - Cherry Valley
Otsego - Middlefield
Otsego - Milford
Otsego - New Lisbon
Otsego - Oneonta
Otsego - Oneonta
Otsego - Otsego
Otsego - Plainfield
Otsego - Roseboom
Otsego - Springfield
Schoharie - Blenheim
Schoharie - Fulton
Sullivan - Bethel
Sullivan - Forestburgh
Sullivan - Highland
Sullivan - Lumberland
Sullivan - Mamakating
Sullivan - Tusten
Tompkins - Caroline
Tompkins - Danby
Tompkins - Dryden
Tompkins - Enfield
Tompkins - Ithaca
Tompkins - Ulysses
Ulster - Marbletown
Ulster - New Paltz
Ulster - Olive
Ulster - Rochester
Ulster - Rosendale
Ulster - Wawarsing
Ulster - Woodstock
Yates - Jerusalem ### 

Get involved to make your voice heard.

Get monthly updates with the information you need to make a difference.