New York CIty Council Member Ben Kallos

Staten Island Advance ( Should school buses have cameras to record cars passing them illegally? by Annalise Knudson

Should school buses have cameras to record cars passing them illegally?

STATEN ISLAND, N.Y. -- After two separate incidents in which vehicles in Brooklyn drove on a sidewalk near a school within the last week -- almost mowing down school children and pedestrians -- a New York City councilman is calling for a new law that would add cameras to the stop sign of a school bus.

Manhattan Councilman Ben Kallos is planning to introduce legislation to add cameras onto the stop arm of school buses to record vehicles that illegally pass the buses, according to a report from the New York Post.

Last week, footage captured children startled by a car that drove on a sidewalk. The vehicle nearly hit the kids, as they were getting off of a school bus in Brooklyn.

Former New York State Assemblyman Dov Hikind posted a video of the footage on Twitter, calling on the New York Police Department to arrest the driver responsible. 

On Monday, another vehicle in Brooklyn drove onto a sidewalk in front of a school to get around slow-moving traffic. In footage obtained and posted on Twitter by Williamsburg News, pedestrians on the corner of the sidewalk can be seen running out of the way when the truck jumps the curb.

In September, Staten Island drivers were seen making illegal U-turns in front of Barnes Intermediate School (I.S. 24), Great Kills, to avoid stopped school buses and traffic.

It is illegal to make a U-turn in a school zone in New York State, according to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

According to New York State law and the state DMV, when drivers stop for a school bus, they cannot drive again until the red lights stop flashing or when the bus driver or a traffic officers signals that the drive can proceed.


The fine for passing a school ranges from $250 for a first violation, to a maximum of $1,000 for three violations in three years, according to the DMV. If you are convicted of three of these violations in three years, your driver license will be revoked for a minimum of six months.



Get involved to make your voice heard.

Get monthly updates with the information you need to make a difference.